Posted in Beforetimes

Beforetimes: The Harrower

The first short story in the Beforetimes series is “The Harrower” in which the Mother wishes to exert power over the Continent by defying the highest Law of the land: she permits a Harrower to live under her rule. The Harrower doesn’t have a problem with that…until he realizes maybe he should.

Click here to read now!

The first novella in the Afterlands series (Book I) will be available December 18, 2021.

Meanwhile, four short stories about what happened before the opening pages of Book I will be presented on this website as free downloads.

Each story highlights the main characters of Afterlands and reveals events leading to the end of the Continent’s twenty-year war between the King and his sister’s cult of “the Mother”.

[Please keep in mind that Beforetimes tales may be dark as they all occur well before the “dawn”.]

Posted in Introduction

Where are the Afterlands?

Afterlands is definitely a place. The mostly-forgotten histories say it’s across the Endless Ocean to the west but no one has tried to find it because it’s said to be the Land of the Harrowers, a world even worse off than the Continent, at the center of which is a volcano that spews four-hundred-foot flames.

But the mostly-forgotten histories are mostly forgotten, and therefore questionable at best, volcanoes are just a bedtime horror-story, and everyone knows the Land of the Harrowers was destroyed seventeen generations ago (which is why they came to the Continent in the first place).

Yet somehow it calls, it exists. And maybe–just maybe–it’s a place dreamed of and hoped for, beyond the desolation, where tired heroes can at long last find their peace. But for now, our heroes are stuck in a dying land destroyed by a lost war.